Ghosts of Mars: The Adventures of Eva Knight

Stuart White came to my attention with his marvellous book The Nameless, it was such an amazing YA book so when I saw this MG book I couldn’t wait to read it.

How would you feel if you were born on Mars, were the most famous person in the Solar System, but could never leave the Red Planet?

Mars. 2045.

My name’s Eva, and I’m a Martian.

Well, technically the first Martianborn human – I’m not, like, green or anything.

So listen, we’re in trouble here; I need to steal a rover to rescue Dad, who’s stuck in a mining vent, in a planet-wide dust-storm, far from our base, or he’ll die. He may even be already dead.

Oh, and I’m Type 1 Diabetic with no insulin. Wish me luck.

This was so good, I absolutely adored the  main character Eva and I was amazed and delighted that the main character suffers from diabetes. I can’t think of another MG book featuring a character suffering from this. It’s fantastic that children suffering from this will be able to see themselves in a book. I care for two girls who have this condition and I’ve never been able to find them something, so this will be brilliant for them. I loved how the author made a point of stating that Diabetes is a lifelong  condition .  And I’m pleased how research has gone into this condition. This is a book full of diverse characters.

The concept of the book was something completely different to other books around. Children are forever asking for ghost/alien  stories and there isn’t really that much around so this book will fill a huge hole in the MG market.

There’s enough science and action to keep the children interested. 

This is an ideal book for a class read with several topics that could lead to important discussions on health and science.

There were so many twists and turn throughout the book, some I  didn’t see coming, it definitely had me on the edge of my seat

I’m looking forward to seeing what the author comes up with next.

With a Type 1 Diabetic main character, Ghosts of Mars explores how life beyond Earth, and the fame and scrutiny that come with it, affects the young people involved, who didn’t sign up for life on Mars. Ten percent of author profits go to Diabetes UK.

Leave a comment