The Royal Jewel Plot

  • Written by A.M. Howell
  • Published by Usborne

I loved the first book in the series and the ending was mind blowing, the copy I bought for the school library is never there, it is always on loan. I was so happy when book 2 popped through my letterbox and knowing I was going to be spending a lot at the fishing lake with my oldest, I kept this book for one of these trips. And boy it was everything and more that I wanted.

I tried to ration myself to only a couple of chapters a day (knowing that it will be a while until book 3 is released) but in the end I gave in and read to the end.

We catch up with  Alice and Sonny a month after they have discovered they are actually siblings and they are getting used to being a family with their dad and Dorothy who has agreed to stay on and help with the children.

Alice and Sonny are excited for their summer trip, sailing on the luxurious yacht the Lady Rose. They’re even more excited when they find out the King of England is going to be onboard too!

There’s also a precious jewel on the boat – a rare opal, kept in a tank protected by a poisonous octopus.

Until one morning, Alice discovers that the opal and octopus are both missing. The search is on to retrieve the priceless gem, before the ship reaches its destination, and everyone on board finds themselves in serious trouble.

The book is set in 1936 and there is talk about a war starting. Also in the news is King Edward and his friendship with American, Mrs Simpson. The children have recently found out that their grandfather left them the yacht they’re to spend their summer sailing on. And they will do anything to keep the boat. Sonny and Alice make a great team investigating a disappearing deadly octopus and a priceless opal this time. I am glad that they turned out to be siblings. They both make friends easily and are soon part of a little group including maids and workers on board the ship. Alice notes down what she can in her book of adventures and they investigate what has happened, against the clock before the opal’s owners want it back. This is a great mystery with a lot of red herrings throughout.

I love the way the author slips in a lot of history in these books and I loved how towards the end the king mentions an announcement before Christmas. And we all know what that turned out to be.

The author’s note at the end of the book was very interesting as well. Children need more authors in their lives like A.M Howell. I have heard this will not become a trilogy, and I truly hope that A.M Howell changes her mind and extends it.

Leave a comment