2022 Middle Grade Must Reads – March

The Life and Time of Lonny Quicke

  • Written by Kirsty Applebaum
  • Published by Nosy Crow

I have a lot of time for Kirsty Applebaum, her pervious books have been brilliant, and Troofriend was one of the first books I read as a librarian. 

So I was looking forward to reading this book, and she didn’t disappoint. 

Lonny is a lifeling, someone who can heal others just by touching someone else, but every time he does this he shortens his life.

It makes you wonder if you would give the lence of life I it meant yours was shorter. What would you do?

The Book Cat

  • Written by Polly Faber
  • Illustrations by Clara Vulliamy
  • Published by Faber

War torn London, an orphan kitten called Morgan, finds safety in a well known publishing house Faber.

There he is loved by the owners, writers and illustrators, so when Morgan hears of some very young kittens that need to get out of London he hatches a plan to teach them all he knows then rehome them to all the writers and illustrations of Faber.

This is such a heart warming tell. It is beautifully told and you will find yourself willing Morgan on.

The Bird Singers

  • Written by Eve Wersocki Morris
  • Published by Hachette Children’s

First after spending ages looking at the beautiful front cover, you need to turn the book over and marvel at the back cover.

In this book we follow sisters Layah and Izzy on holiday with their mum, it starts off OK, but then strange things start to happen. Their mum tries to cover things up, but the girls Don’t believe her.

I was really in to this book then out of the blue there was a twist that I didn’t see coming. But now looking back there were clues the author had given leading up to the twist,  then everything explodes.

This book is the sort you really can’t put down, you will find yourself walking around with the book.

Eve is going to be a major player I children’s literature for many years.

This book is perfect for fans of Sophie Anderson and Abi Elphinstone.

The Sky Beneath the Stone

  • Written by Alex Mullarky
  • Published by Kelpies

As a librarian we tell the children never to judge a book by it’s cover, well in this case I will change my mind, it has the most beautiful cover I have ever seen, front and back, both are just as amazing. It’s bright and colourful and draws you in.

Ivy is an adventurous child, who loves nothing more than the great outdoors, pitching a tent and following a map, there’s only a slight problem since a freak incident she’s afraid to go outside. 

So when her beloved brother disappears in a hole in the wall Ivy knows she is the only one who can rescue him. Oh and he’s been turned into a kestrel. But where do you start to look for a bird? With the aid of her trustee map and compress Ivy sets out to save him.

Along the way she meets a boy Kit who is looking for his brother but hang on, his brother died in the war, didn’t he? Will Ivy find her brother ? Who exactly is Kit and why does the dog like him so much?

All these questions will be answered in the book. I loved this book, it takes you on an action packed adventure, it makes you look at yourself and ask if you were Ivy would you be brave enough to go through the wall.

Though out the book we watch Ivy question herself, gain confidence and start to believe in herself. She grows up before our very eyes, I know if I was lost I’d want Ivy looking for me.

Happy Here

  •  Written by a collection of Black Authors and Illustrators
  • Published by Knights Of

Here at BookBound we like short stories – these are quick stories that can be read in under 10 minutes – and that is exactly what can be found inside this book, the only difference is that every story is written by a black author and has pictures by black illustrators.

I loved this book and each and every person reading this book will have a favourite story, my favourite story is by Joseph Coelho and illustrated by Selom Sunu.

In this story Amelia and her brother Tobias are on another cruise and theirs something fishy going on, and it’s up to the children and their new friends to solve the mystery. 

I’m sure when you read the book you’ll have to favourite too.

Fledgling

  • Written by Lucy Hope
  • Published by Nosy Crow

Before this was published this book was the talk of social media and I was desperate to get my hands on a copy.

When I did it jumped straight to my to be read pile, and I couldn’t wait to start it.

The plot was brilliant and nothing liked I’d read before, the characters were fantastic and they all worked well together. It was fast paced and action packed and you are unable to guess what is going to happen next which is why I was speechless at the massive twist at the end.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s