Anne of Green Gables

Originally published in 1908 and loved by so many generations of readers since, Sweet Cherry Publishing recently republished the eight book collection by L.M.Montgomery with fantastically attractive, newly designed covers designed by illustrator Elena Distefano that aim to draw new generations of readers to the classic titles at a time where interest in that genre has declined substantially.

Boxset collection

” Mrs. Rachel Lynde lived just where the Avonlea main road dipped down into a little hollow, fringed with alders and ladies’ eardrops and traversed by a brook that had its source away back in the woods of the old Cuthbert place; it was reputed to be an intricate, headlong brook in its earlier course through those woods, with dark secreta of pool and cascade; but by tbe time it reached Lynde’s Hollow it was a quiet, well-conducted little stream, for not even a brook could run past Mrs.Rachel Lynde’s door without due regard for decency and decorum; it probably was concious that Mrs.Rachel was sitting at her window, keeping a sharp eye on everything that passed, from brooks and children up, and that if she noticed anything odd or out of place she would never rest until she had ferreted out the whys and wherefores thereof.”

Beginning with book one – Anne of Green Gables, the books themselves are word for word true to the original text written by L.M.Montgomery. This allows connections to be made between generations of readers such as grandparents and parents that have previously read the book(s) and those in their family that read these new redesigned editions, and likewise with teachers and librarians, sharing their reading experiences and recommending these stunningly covered books to students they know will likely enjoy them through similar book tastes and hobbies.

I personally love that they are the original texts as this draws up so much potential to compare the content with modern day classics, and discuss the references made in the books too as the world has changed so much in the last century.

Book One – Anne of Green Gables

As the book’s continue through the collection the beautiful covers reveal the transformation of Anne over the years, visually indicating the relevant progress within the series making navigation of the books plots easier.

Book Two – Anne of Avonlea

Each book has a vibrant coloured cover making them easy to distinguish and find on the bookcase at home as well as within a busy, well stocked school library.

Book three – Anne of the Island

There is something quite mesmerising about the books covers as a collection, seeing the progress of Anne over the years reminds me of the ITV production Victoria where the introduction to each episode does similar.

Book Four – Anne of Windy Poplars

We all look to provide children with access to all genres of childrens literature, with particular passion for fantastically written titles, quality texts, the classics and these really are a fantastic addition to a library – at school or at home. These captivating covers hope to encourage new readers to a fantastic series of books that have lasted decade over decade in the hearts of so many and pathe the way for the next generation to enjoy them too.

The Anne of Green Gables Collection

Published by – Sweet Cherry Publishing

RRP – £ 55.92 (at the time I am writing this they are available at £ 26.96 by following the link on the website for the collection.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s